THE REGION IN BRIEF

A Four-Season Sensation

Tucked into a verdant corner on the shores of Grand Lac Brompton, the Sanctuaire Mont Cathédrale is luxuriously situated in the heart of the Eastern Townships. Known for its picturesque landscape, the region is a mosaic of green hills, vast forests, and glacier lakes. The Eastern Townships are also known for their hospitable and generous residents who have a deep respect for the environment. In every possible way, this region is ideal for tons of exciting activities regardless of the season.

To get out in nature, visit Mount Orford National Park, located next door to the Sanctuaire Mont Cathérale, or discover the hundreds of kilometers of bike paths and cross-country ski and snow-shoeing trails that wind throughout the region. Not far away, Mount Orford ski resort has terrific skiing and is one of the three highest peaks in Quebec. Golf is not hard to come by, since there are several magnificent, wide-sweeping greens close to the Sanctuaire. In the summer, the region’s many lakes are great for pleasure-boaters, swimmers, and other water-sport lovers. There are also many equestrian centers offering horse-back rides through the countryside.

To relax, explore the region’s charms, which are appreciated by whoever takes the time to discover them. There are spas, shops, fine restaurants, and local products such as, cider from some of the most well-known cider-makers in Quebec, maple syrup products, and the famous blue cheeses of the Abbye de Saint Benoît du Lac. Culturally speaking, there are interpretation centers, art galleries, a remarkable historical and religious heritage, and some of the most beautiful towns in the province such as Stanstead and Knowlton. Finally, the region hosts a number of events and festivals, including the Orford Festival, which takes place each summer at the Orford Art’s Centre, a half hour from Sanctuaire Mont Cathédrale.

LA RÉGION EN BREF

Sensations quatre saisons

Niché dans un écrin de verdure en bordure du Grand Lac Brompton, le Sanctuaire Mont Cathédrale jouit d’une situation privilégiée au cœur des Cantons-de-l’Est. Reconnue pour la beauté de ses paysages, la région est une mosaïque contrastée de collines verdoyantes, de vastes forêts et de lacs d’origine glaciaire. Mais c’est aussi à l’hospitalité de leurs habitants, à leur générosité et à leur profond respect de l’environnement que les Cantons-de-l’Est doivent leur réputation. Côté cour et côté jardin, voilà donc le décor planté pour une foule d’activités passionnantes – quelle que soit la saison.

Côté nature, partez à l’aventure dans le Parc national du Mont-Orford voisin du Sanctuaire Mont Cathédrale, ou sur les centaines de kilomètres de pistes cyclables, de sentiers de ski de fond et de raquette qui sillonnent la région. Non loin, la station du Mont-Orford vous donne accès à un superbe domaine skiable formé de trois des plus hauts sommets du Québec. Le golf n’est pas en reste, puisque plusieurs terrains magnifiques déroulent leurs verts à proximité du Sanctuaire. En saison, les nombreux plans d’eau de la région font le bonheur des plaisanciers, baigneurs et autres passionnés d’activités nautiques. Plusieurs centres équestres des environs permettent également aux amateurs d’équitation de parcourir la région dans un cadre bucolique.

Côté détente, la région sait faire apprécier ses charmes à qui prend le temps de les découvrir : spas, boutiques, restaurants gastronomiques et produits du terroir – dont les cidres de certains des vergers parmi les plus réputés au Québec, les vins, les produits de l’érable et les fameux fromages bleus de l’Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac. Côté culture, la région abrite des centres d’interprétation et des galeries d’art, mais aussi un patrimoine historique et religieux remarquable, ainsi que certains des plus beaux villages de la province, comme Stanstead et Knowlton. Enfin, elle accueille de nombreux événements et festivals, dont le Festival Orford, qui se déroule chaque été au Centre d’arts Orford, à une demi-heure du Sanctuaire Mont Cathédrale.