RESIDENCES

Every residence at Sanctuaire Mont Cathédrale is unique, but they are all based on the common values and principles of the project: comfort, privacy, ecological sustainability, and energy efficiency.

The Tree House
The Sanctuaire’s first residence, inspired by a tree house, is the perfect example of a home that blends into its environment while maximizing its occupant’s quality of life and minimizing its ecological footprint. The exterior of the first floor is covered in wood to represent a tree trunk, while the much larger second floor is covered in copper tiles, which will, in time, develop a green patina, helping the house harmonize with the surrounding vegetation. The tree house was built on a large property of more than 24,000 m2 (six acres) with 267 m2 (2,880 ft2) of living space, a 70 m2 (760 ft2) balcony, and two garages, which make 83 m2 (890 ft2) in total. The living space includes a large, open living area, a kitchen, four bedrooms, three complete bathrooms, a laundry room and an elevator.

Exterior: a harmonious union with nature
The house’s primary feature is an immense glass wall, 19 m (63 ft) long and 2.75 m (9 ft) high, located at the front of the house, which opens onto a 70 m2 (760 ft2) balcony looking out onto a panoramic view of the lake and neighboring mountains. The larger main floor overhangs the first floor and is 54 m (180 ft) above lake level, creating a sense of weightlessness and direct contact with the natural elements. In addition, the glass wall increases the energy efficiency of the house: in winter, sunlight comes in and reduces heating costs; in summer, electric, automatic awnings keep the interior cool.

Insulation: ecological is economical
360-degree thermal insulation combined with sustainable and high-performance materials guarantee the absolute comfort of occupants. Not a single detail has been neglected: all the exterior walls are covered in 9 cm (4 in) of soy urethane, an ecological insulation; the second floor exterior walls are further protected by a vapor barrier, an air barrier, and a rain barrier; the roof is insulated by a highly resistant thermal isocyanurate foam and a Soprema waterproof membrane. The frame is made entirely of Western Fir, a wood known for its solidity and durability.

Interior: high-quality living in its purest form
Inside, the house is friendly and warm. The judicious use of natural and manufactured materials such as wood (birch, cherry, poplar, fir), marble, quartz, steel, glass, and porcelain makes the house welcoming and highly functional. The heating system uses a combination of geothermal energy (heated floors), a Finish masonry heater made of soapstone (a natural material known for its unique ability to absorb heat), and a bi-energy (propane-electric) system. The house is self-sufficient, and has an automatic generator that takes over in case of power failure. What’s more, before arriving at your home, you can regulate the thermostat by distance using the Internet, so you will have a comfortable temperature when you arrive. In your absence, you can go online and use the five-camera security system to watch over the exterior and interior of your residence from wherever you are.

RÉSIDENCES

Chaque résidence du Sanctuaire Mont Cathédrale est unique, mais toutes bénéficient de valeurs et de principes qui constituent les fondements mêmes du projet : confort, intimité, durabilité écologique et rendement énergétique.

La maison dans les arbres
La première résidence du Sanctuaire, inspirée d’une maison dans les arbres, illustre parfaitement cette conception intégrée de la villégiature qui vise à maximiser la qualité de vie des occupants tout en minimisant l’empreinte écologique de l’habitation. Le rez-de-chaussée est recouvert de bois représentant le tronc d’un arbre, tandis que l’étage surdimensionné est habillé de tuiles de cuivre qui, avec le temps, développeront une patine verte qui permettra à la maison de se fondre dans le feuillage. Construite sur un immense terrain de plus de 24 000 m2 (six acres), la maison dans les arbres offre une superficie habitable de 267 m2 (2 880 pi2), à laquelle s’ajoute une terrasse de 70 m2 (760 pi2), ainsi que deux garages pour une surface totale de 83 m2 (890 pi2). L’espace habitable comprend une vaste pièce à vivre à aires ouvertes, une cuisine, quatre chambres et trois salles de bain complètes, ainsi qu’une buanderie et un ascenseur.

L’extérieur : une intégration harmonieuse dans le paysage
Élément prédominant de la construction, l’immense mur vitré de 19 m (63 pi) de long par 2,75 m (9 pi) de haut s’ouvre sur une terrasse de 70 m2 (760 pi2) et offre une vue panoramique sur le lac et les montagnes avoisinantes. Bâtie en porte-à-faux et surélevée de 54 m (180 pi) par rapport à la surface de l’eau, elle donne une impression d’apesanteur et favorise un dialogue direct avec les éléments naturels. De plus, la paroi vitrée contribue au rendement énergétique de la maison : l’hiver, elle laisse pénétrer les rayons du soleil pour réduire les coûts de chauffage; l’été, des auvents électriques automatisés permettent de conserver la fraîcheur à l’intérieur.

L’isolation : l’écologie, gage d’économie d’énergie
Sous la surface, l’isolation thermique à 360 degrés se marie à des matériaux durables et performants pour assurer aux occupants un confort absolu. Aucun détail n’a été négligé : tous les murs extérieurs sont revêtus d’un isolant écologique en uréthane de soya de 9 cm (4 po) d’épaisseur; l’étage est en outre protégé par une membrane coupe-vapeur et une membrane pare-air et pare-pluie. Le toit est isolé à l’aide d’une mousse d’isocyanurate à haute résistance thermique et par une membrane d’étanchéité Soprema. Tous les éléments de charpente sont en sapin de l’Ouest, un bois reconnu pour sa solidité, sa durabilité.

L’intérieur : la qualité de vie à l’état pur
À l’intérieur, les volumes sont conviviaux et chaleureux. Grâce à une combinaison judicieuse de matériaux naturels et manufacturés tels que le bois (merisier, cerisier, peuplier, sapin), le marbre, le quartz, l’acier, le verre et la porcelaine, la maison est à la fois accueillante et hautement fonctionnelle. Le chauffage fait appel à un système combinant la géothermie (planchers radiants), un foyer de masse finlandais en stéatite (pierre à savon), un matériau naturel inégalé pour sa capacité d’accumulation thermique, ainsi qu’un système bi-énergie (propane-électricité). La maison est autosuffisante. La génératrice entièrement automatisée prend en charge les fonctions essentielles en cas de panne électrique. Par ailleurs, lorsque vous prévoyez un séjour dans votre résidence, vous pouvez régler à distance les thermostats afin de trouver une température confortable à votre arrivée. De plus, un dispositif composé de cinq caméras vidéo vous permet de surveiller l'intérieur et l'extérieur de votre résidence sur Internet, où que vous soyez.